Esteban Ocon

Sergio Perez wins the Sakhir GP
Sergio Perez wins the Sakhir GP
Credit: LAT Images for Mercedes-Benz Grand Prix Ltd

Sergio Perez celebrated Sunday his first-ever Formula 1 victory at the Sakhir GP. Renault's Esteban Ocon and Racing Point's Lance Stroll completed the podium on a wild evening in Bahrain.

Carlos Sainz finished fourth, ahead of Renault's Daniel Ricciardo and Red Bull's Alex Albon.

Lewis Hamilton takes pole position for Bahrain Grand Prix
Lewis Hamilton
Lewis Hamilton Credit: Steve Etherington for Mercedes-Benz Grand Prix Ltd.

Hamilton, who celebrated his seventh title two weeks ago, had a comfortable 0.289 seconds lead to Mercedes team-mate Valtteri Bottas and collected the 98th pole of his Formula 1 career.

Red Bull's Max Verstappen and Alexander Albon were third and fourth, with Sergio Perez in the fifth position.

Renault's Daniel Ricciardo and Esteban Ocon were sixth and seventh, separated by just 0.002secs, ahead of Alpha Tauri's Pierre Gasly and McLaren's Lando Norris.