Politics • American • South America
Uruguay is the only Latin American country in EU's Covid-19 'safe list'
Munich International Airport passport control
Munich International Airport passport control Credit: Vasyatka1 (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike 4.0)

The European Union has named 14 countries whose citizens are deemed "safe" to be let in from July 1, and the only Latin American country is Uruguay.

As infection rates in Brazil, Mexico and Colombia are still high, their nationals will face travel restrictions.

The current list is formed by Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

Politics • African
Algeria lockdown extended until June 13th
Illustration of spreading virus
Illustration of spreading virus Credit: Nations COVID-19 Response

Algeria extended the lockdown in 44 of its 48 wilayas (provinces) until June 13th. The government is urging its citizens to “continue its citizen mobilization”. Algeria has reported over 9000 cases and 630 deaths. The country is still using hydroxychloroquine to treat Covid-19 patients, despite the WHO's warnings.