Regional News • Europe • Germany

Germany to impose travel ban from parts of Czech Republic and Austria

Interior Minister Horst Seehofer has announced that Germany will impose a travel ban from Austria's province Tyrol and "border regions of the Czech Republic" in an effort to curb the spread of more potent Covid-19 mutations. Tyrol has seen an increase in new infections of the 501.V2 variant that was first detected in South Africa.

“The states of Bavaria and Saxony today asked the government to class Tyrol and the border regions of the Czech Republic as virus mutation areas, and to implement border controls,” so Seehofer. “That has been agreed with the (German) chancellor and the vice-chancellor.”

Highly edible human, designer of all things digital, co-founder of Pendect, creative native, constant wa/onderer, morse code lady, full-time dog pillow.
Card reviewed by: @ericof